U.S. Army Wilks Award

The Army Wilks Award is given periodically at this conference to a deserving individual who has made a substantial contribution to statistical methodology and application impacting the practice of statistics in the Army through personal research in statistics or application of statistics in the solution of Army problems. The award was established to commemorate the career of Prof. Samuel S. Wilks and especially his service to the Army. Letters of nomination and a vita germane to Army service should be mailed by July 16, 2004 to Jock O. Grynovicki at the address given below. Questions regarding the Army Wilks Award nominations should also be directed to Jock Grynovicki at jgrynovi@arl.army.mil.

U.S. Army Research Laboratory
AMSRD-ARL-HR-SE (Dr. Grynovicki)
Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD 21005-5425

Prof. Samuel S. Wilks

Recipients to Date


 Robert Bechhofer (1981)  Bernard Harris (1982)  Herbert David (1983)
 Nozer Singpurwalla (1984)  Emanuel Parzen (1985)  Francis Dressel (1986)
 J. Stuart Hunter (1987)  Marion Bryson (1988)  Boyd Harshbarger (1989)
 James Thompson (1991)  Malcolm Taylor (1992)  Douglas Tang (1993)
 Jayaram Sethuraman (1994)  W. Jay Conover (1997)  Robert Launer (1998)
 Edward Wegman (1999)  C.R. Rao (2000)  Eugene Dutoit (2002)
 Donald Barr (2003)  David Scott (2004)  


2004 Army Wilks
Award Recipient

Prof. David Scott, Rice University


Army Wilks Award Winners in
Attendance(left to right)
James Thompson, Jayaram Sethuraman, Douglas Tang,
Robert Launer, David Scott, Edward Wegman, Jay Conover


Return to ACAS Home Page